Taking the Plunge

Right now, as school approaches, I have one big decision to make. Do I attempt a flip of all my classes, or just one? Let me give you a little background of the types of English I have ahead of me:

Social Media and Digital Interactivity–This class is totally new to me. Right now, only four students are enrolled, due to the period this class is offered. I saw it as an opportunity to show them how to use SM tools to connect with our community. It seems a natural fit for flipping, but with so few students, I don’t know if it will be worth the time.

Regular English 2--This will be the 5th year I’ve taught this prep. For the first time, I am the only one in the building teaching it.  I want to try flipping, but these students are reluctant to do homework. Since flipping makes homework truly mission critical, I am worried it won’t work. But I have 4 sections of this flavor of English, so it might be more time efficient.

Advanced English 2–This is the 2nd year I’ve taught this prep. I’m thinking that it might be the easiest to flip, as I only have 1 section of it and these students do homework.

When I look back at my beliefs, being true to my values means I ought to try flipping them all. What to do, what to do…

Leave a Reply

