Date Night Dissolves

Today, we discussed weighted grades. I offered retests and saw at least one student finally get what we were doing in our novel. I saw my spontaneous project bear intriguing fruit, and waited in vain for a disgruntled parent to come berate me.  I listened to my daughter beg to stay home from dance, and then share how happy she was to go. Whip lash, anyone?

Date night dissolves
into parallel play
as we cordially ignore
one another for
the saturated siren song
of a brand new book.

Leave a Reply

