The Joy of Play

Mama, will you play with me?

I confess, I still don’t like playing. I’ll read with them, sing to them, take them to the potty in the middle of the night, but please con’t ask me to play. I feel so guilty about it. Shouldn’t every mom jump for joy, when asked for a round of Uno, or to play trains? But the truth is that although I love my family, sometimes I just need some time away. I keep waiting for that magic moment where they’re old enough to play something I like. But the truth is that I have lost my joy in playing. I hope reading with them, one activity I love, is enough.

Leave a Reply

