#BYOD Discussion for #Slowchated

Before last week, I had never moderated a chat. I knew what to expect, because I’d participated in numerous Twitter chats, including quite a few slowchats, but I’d never popped my cherry, so to speak. And I chose a topic close to my heart: students bringing their own devices to class.

Right away, the idea of a digital divide cropped up.

First, there were the schools that forbid student tech.

Then there were the schools that forbid mobile devices but are 1 to 1.

For the most part, we all agreed that students need to learn how to use their devices appropriately.

Teachers had great ideas of what they’d do with students all having a device in class, like Kahoot, Socrative, Today’s Meet, and other formative assessments. In retrospect, I wish I’d created a shared Google Doc so that we could archive all those great ideas.

Then we got into the idea of “tech time outs.” Not for punishment, but to free students.

Or maybe a tech free day, with a mini “you can check your phone” break?

We all agreed that it’s not just cell phones that distract students.

Everyone agreed that we want students to learn, not just content, but how to be better citizens.

It was really fun moderating this chat. Maybe I’ll do it again sometime!

Leave a Reply

